## Tasmanian Fly Tyers Club Inc.

## Johnny Walker Club Man Trophy

The trophy was conceived and first presented in 1968 by founding President Bob Peacock to Tom Sommerville, long time Honorary Secretary of the club.

As the name suggests, the trophy was to recognise the contributions of individuals to the club over the previous year/s. By convention the awarding of the Club Man Trophy is at the sole discretion of the outgoing President for the particular year.

The choice by Bob Peacock of "Johnny Walker" as the flag bearer for the award is indicative of his approach to fellowship within the club and of his liking for the odd wee dram.

I think the trophy continues to give a message about the convivial spirit in which the club operates and I would hope that this same spirit continues into the future.

The winners of the trophy over the years are listed below:

1968 Tom Sommerville 1969 Tom Sommerville 1970 Bev Stewart 1971 Bev Stewart 1972 Bob Mitchell 1973 Bob Mitchell 1974 Ambrose Haley 1975 Malcolm Crosse 1976 Ian Madden 1977 Duncan Kerr 1978 Ray Longden 1979 Jim Hastie 1980 David O'Brien 1981 Ross Scrim 1982 Eric Canning 1983 Ray Andrews 1984 Max Stokes 1985 Denis Abbott 1986 Des Innes 1987 Tony Dell 1988 John Jones 1989 Tony Dell 1990 Geoff Watson 1991 Lyndon Cubbins 1992 Don Hammond 1993 Ken Fisher 1994 Tony Abel 1995 Brian McCullagh 1996 Brian McCullagh / Tony Dell

1997 Brian McCullagh 1998 John Bastick 1999 Brian McCullagh 2000 Ian Stokes 2001 Frank Butler 2002 John O'Halloran 2003 Ian Stokes 2004 Bruce Barker 2005 Michael Excell 2006 James Mackay 2007 Tony Dell 2008 David Young 2009 John Smith 2010 Peter Murphy 2011 Tony Dell 2012 Lyndon Cubbins 2013 Laurie Matcham 2014 Tim Lewis 2015 Doug Miller 2016 Noel Wilson 2017 Anna Bellette 2018 Ashley Artis 2019 Stephen Butler 2020 Stephen Butler 2021 Tony Abel 2022 Tim Lewis / Stephen Butler 2023 Brian West