

## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 17/8/09

Meeting began: 8:10pm.

**Apologies:** D Miller, S. Spotswood, I. Stokes, G. Howard, R Scrimm, I Smith, H Noga, G House, D. Tadd, J. Davis, S. Thomson, A. Cables

**Present:** D. Hemmings (Chair) plus 42 member as per attendance book, and guest speaker, Mel Pearce (President of the W.A. Trout and Freshwater Angling Association).

The President spoke of the passing of Honorary Member John Diggle and called for one minute of silence as a mark of respect.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 20/8/07 were accepted. Moved: I. Madden, seconded: R. Ruthven Carried.

**President's report:** D. Hemmings read his President's Report (attached). <u>Moved</u>: J Smith, <u>seconded</u>: S Spottswood. 'That the President's Report be accepted.' Carried.

**Treasurer's Report:** The Treasurer was absent due to illness. J. Smith tabled and spoke to an unaudited preliminary financial statement showing the Club's financial position at 30 June 2009 (attached). The statement showed income for the year at \$9,192.87 and expenditure at \$8044.17. The calculated closing balance at 30 June 2008 was \$1,148.70.61. Moved: S. Gates, seconded: L. Cubbins. 'That the Treasurer's report be accepted.' Carried.

## **Election of Committee:**

- President: D Hemmings only nomination received. (Nominated J Spencer, seconded S Gates)
   Elected.
- Vice President: P Trott only nomination received. (Nominated P Murphy, seconded J Spencer) Elected.
- Secretary: P Murphy only nomination received. (Nominated T Munro, seconded J Spencer) Elected.
- Treasurer: T Munro only nomination received. (Nominated P Murphy, seconded P Trott) Elected.
- Committee: Nominations were received for M Crosse (nominated C Ludford, seconded R Scrim),
  J Smith (nominated S Gates, seconded M Aspinall) & J Spencer (nominated: P Murphy,
  seconded P Trott). Elected.

**Secretarial Remuneration:** The Secretary indicated that he did not require an honorarium.

**Auditor:** Moved R Ruthven, seconded I Madden "that the appointment of the auditor be left to the Committee". <u>Carried</u>.

**Honorary members:** Moved T Dell, seconded J Mackay that P Fay, D Lane, B Stewart and E Canning be appointed Honorary Members for the year. <u>Carried.</u>

**Honorary Solicitor:** Moved: D Hemmings, seconded P Trott "that the appointment of an Honorary Solicitor be left to the Committee". Carried.

**New Life Member**: D Hemmings informed the meeting that the committee had decided to award Tony Dell Life Membership of the club in recognition of his service in numerous ways over many years. Lyndon Cubbins spoke eloquently about the many aspects of the club to which Tony has contributed since he joined in 1980.

Patron: Moved, D Hemmings, seconded M Crosse that B Fowler be appointed Club Patron. Carried.

**Clubman of the year:** D Hemmings nominated John Smith as the recipient for in recognition of his work as the Club's Vice Editor, acting Secretary and committee member during the past year.

**Motion to increase the membership limit:** <u>Moved</u> David Hemmings "that the words 'seventy five' be deleted from rule 5(13) of the Rules of the Tasmanian Fly Tyers Club Incorporated and be replaced with the word 'eighty'" <u>seconded</u> Tim Munro carried with 33 votes for and 5 against.

Meeting finished: 8:35pm Peter Murphy (Hon. Sec.)