

# Tasmanian Fly Tyers' Club

# Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 15th August 2016 at 7.30pm

Present: John Smith (chair) plus 36 members as per the attendance sheet.

**Apologies**: Doug Miller, Eric Howard, Heather Noga, David Lipscombe, Seleste Scott, Lyndon Cubbins, Bill Turner, Rob Dineen, Henry Edgell, Andrew Bovill, Francis Bright, Ashley Artis, Graeme Howard, Andrew Cables, Stuart Spotswood, David Nicholson, Brian West, Bryn Carman, Mark Quinane, Tim Munro and Bruce Barker.

**Minutes of the 2015 AGM** – moved T Lewis, seconded A Blackwood that these be adopted as a true record carried.

Business arising from the minutes - nil.

## President's Report on behalf of the Committee

John Smith said that he had given his report in the last edition of The Vice.

He thanked all the committee for the way the carried out their duties, including Chris Medwin who helped get young members into the Club.

All the members, far too many to name, that contributed to all the events that made this such a successful year.

#### Treasurer's Report

Andrew Blackwood reported that we have accrued expenses of \$634 as we did not pay our Land Tax (we were applying for a concession) nor purchase a present for Henry Edgell (Bothwell weekend) before the end of the financial year.

Donations were up because of the donations for Henry and some generous donations from the Tiger Hut and Miena Lodge. We also had a boost from new members and sales of the Stokes Fly Pattern book.

Expenses were stable except for upgrades of the two shacks. This included the new mattresses for Miena and the solar electricity installation at Lake Sorell. This was the main cause of us running at a loss but the committee felt that the kind offer from Malcolm and Brian was too good to refuse. For some reason the bill for our Public Liability Insurance didn't arrive and I didn't notice. I have contacted Anglers Alliance but have not received any feedback as yet.

We spent quite a bit establishing the fly tying course run by Brian West but that has resulted in an equivalent amount of revenue in the 2016-17 year and hopefully ongoing revenue.

Moved T Lewis seconded B McCullagh and carried that the report be accepted.

## **Auditor's Report**

The report of the Auditor was received.

#### **Constitutional Rule Changes**

That in Paragraph 28(1) b of the Rules of the Tasmanian Fly Tyers' Club Inc. as amended 2011, 2013, and 2015, the word "three" be deleted and the words "up to four" be inserted in its place.

This has allowed the size of the committee to be up to four plus the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer who are the officers of the Association.



# Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 15th August 2016

### **Election of Office Bearers**

The chair advised that the secretary had received 10 days prior to the AGM nominations for the following positions.

President: Andrew Hood proposed Tim Lewis seconded John Smith

Vice President: David Lipscombe proposed John Smith seconded Andrew Blackwood

Secretary: Tim Lewis proposed Andrew Hood seconded John Smith

Treasurer: Andrew Blackwood proposed Andrew Hood seconded Tim Lewis

Committee: Anna Bellette proposed John Smith seconded Tim Lewis

Committee: Chris Medwin proposed Tim Lewis seconded Andrew Blackwood

Committee: Ian Stokes proposed Peter Langton seconded Tony Abel

This left one position vacant on the committee, the chair called for nominations from the floor. Andrew Reed was proposed by M Crosse and seconded T Lewis, there being no further nominations Andrew was elected to the committee.

### **Appointment of Auditor**

Moved J Smith seconded A Blackwood that Michael Müller be appointed as Auditor.

## **Appointment of Honorary Solicitor**

Moved J Smith seconded T Lewis that Brett Cassidy be appointed as Honorary Solicitor.

#### **Honorary Members**

The Chair advised that he believes that the Honorary Members do not have to be approved at each AGM however it was agreed that Michael Excell and Graeme Howard continue as Honorary Members.

#### Life Membership

On behalf of the Committee, the President announced that Laurie Matcham had been made a Life Member. Laurie was very proud and surprised at being awarded life membership. The President presented him with a landing net in recognition.

### 'Johnny Walker' Clubman of the year

The President awarded this to Noel Wilson for the wonderful work he does at club events and mentoring new members.

## Close of AGM at 7.58pm

T Lewis Secretary