

# Tasmanian Fly Tyers' Club

# Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 19th August 2019

**Present:** Andrew Hood (chair) plus 37 members, Denis Abbott, Tony Abel, Mark Aspinall, Anna Bellette, Wayne Bellette, Andrew Blackwood, Bryn Carman, Malcolm Crosse, Tony Dell, Craig Granquist, David Hemmings, Chris Hilton, Andrew Hood, Eric Howard, James Johns, James Jones, Peter Langton, Dave Long, Stephen Luttrell, Paul Markey, Laurie Matcham, Nick May, Brian McCullagh, Chris Medwin, Peter Murphy, Andrew Reed, Danny Rimmer, Chris Roberts, John Smith, John Spencer, Stuart Spotswood, Ian Stokes, David Travalia, Peter Trott, Tim Urbanc, Brian West, Noel Wilson, David Young.

**Apologies**: Michael Bourne, Rob Brodribb, Stephen Butler, Glenn Cannell, Lyndon Cubbins, Nick Ingles, Tim Lewis, James Mackay, Doug Miller, Ranald Moore, Doug Mosenthal, Tim Munro, David O'Brien, John O'Halloran, Mark Quinane, Di Richards, Chris Rothe, David Tadd.

Minutes of the 2018 AGM – These were adopted as a true record.

Business arising from the minutes - nil.

#### President's Report on behalf of the Committee

#### Andrew Hood presented his report.

Yet again, I am delighted to report that our club has had a very successful year and is in very good shape.

This year several new members have joined the club – Dylan Cassidy, Linda Lammin, Dave Long, Nick May and Di Richards. Welcome to all of them. Happily, there have been no deaths.

Currently there are no membership vacancies apart from those available to female and younger applicants.

At the most recent committee meeting Ian Stokes was enthusiastically endorsed as the club's newest Life Member in recognition of his long membership, service as secretary and committee member, and frequent enthusiastic involvement in club activities.

The club remains in a very strong financial position with over \$25,000 as cash reserves, no long term debts and assets in the form of our two shacks valued at over \$267,000 as at 30 June.

As always, we are indebted to many people and organisations for support and assistance that have enabled successful club activities and functions during the year. These include:

- the Edgell, and Bowden families for access and accommodation for the Bothwell Dams weekend,
- Steve Bax and Mike Stevens from The Fishing Connection and Essential Fly Fisher, respectively, for raffle and trophy donations,
- Bryn Carman for donating a fly rod which was raffled at the club dinner,
- Mike Cousins at the Central Highlands Lodge for cash donations,
- Laurie Matcham and Brent Bowerman for flies for the dinner raffle,
- Grace Matcham for arranging our annual dinner.

Our thanks are also due to our shack co-ordinators, Brian McCullagh and Tony Dell and several other members who have helped to maintain and improve both of our shacks during the year.



#### Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 19h August 2019

The Vice continues to be an extremely valuable and popular feature of the club and we owe Doug Miller a special debt of gratitude for his continuing and willing role as editor.

Undoubtedly the calendar of activities provides the core of the club's ongoing success. These activities included:

- fishing trips to Penstock, the Western Lakes, Bothwell farm dams, Northern Tasmania, Talbot's Lagoon, Lake Fergus and the Great Lake,
- the Great Lake Tie-in,
- the annual dinner.
- the Tiger Hut, RSL and winter tying and dyeing sessions,
- the Salmon Ponds casting and BBQ day,
- casting clinics,
- general meeting speakers programme.

This is a very full calendar of events and activities, every one of which has been enthusiastically arranged and co-ordinated by one or more of our members and supported by those attending. Many, many thanks to all involved – these activities are the core of our club.

Finally, I am now stepping down after three years as President. I have found the role at different times to be challenging, educative, informative, fun and, overall, enjoyable. I now know much more about the Club and have made and strengthened many friendships within it. In carrying out the job, I have been hugely supported particularly by my fellow committee members, and also by the general membership and for this support I am extremely grateful.

However, I am a firm believer that continual renewal is essential for the ongoing well-being of the club, and I am very content that Andrew Reed and his continuing committee will be excellent for the club.

Andrew Hood was thanked for his 3 years as president.

#### **Treasurer's Report**

Andrew Blackwood presented the treasurer's report.

Moved Brian McCullagh seconded Chris Medwin and carried that the financial statements be received.

### **Auditor's Report**

The report of the Auditor was received.

# **Election of Office Bearers**

The secretary advised that he had received 10 days prior to the AGM nominations for the following positions.

President: Andrew Reed (Nominated David Hemmings, seconded Malcolm Crosse)

Vice President: Anna Bellette (nominated Tim Urbanc, seconded Tim Lewis)

Secretary: Tim Lewis (Nominated Anna Bellette, seconded Tim Urbanc)

Treasurer: Andrew Blackwood (Nominated Anna Bellette, seconded Tim Lewis)

Committee:



### Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 19h August 2019

Wayne Bellette (nominated Anna Bellette, seconded Tim Lewis)

Tim Urbanc (nominated Tim Lewis, seconded Wayne Bellette)

David Travalia (nominated Andrew Reed, seconded Andrew Blackwood)

Dave Long was proposed and seconded for the vacant committee position by himself and David Hemmings and was elected.

# **Appointment of Auditor**

Moved Andrew Blackwood seconded Tony Dell that Michael Müller be re-appointed as Auditor.

# **Appointment of Honorary Solicitor**

Moved David Long seconded Peter Murphy that Brett Cassidy be re-appointed as Honorary Solicitor.

#### Patron

Nominations for Patron need to be received at least a month prior to the AGM, no nominations were received.

#### Life Member

Ian Stokes was presented Life Membership.

He said the club had been a part of his whole life because of his dad, Max.

### 'Johnny Walker' Clubman of the year

The President awarded this to Stephen Butler for the wonderful work he does for the club.

## **Close of AGM**

T Lewis

Secretary