Minutes Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL and Zoom, 19 August 2024, 7.30pm

Zoom

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83012995447?pwd=dUl2Wis0Y3UxMWd0b3Rkc1dxSThxdz09

Meeting ID: 830 1299 5447 Passcode: 007

Present: 36 members

Denis Abbott, Tony Abel, Glenn Becher, Anna Bellette, Chris Berndt, Elliott Blackwood, Michael Bourne, Stephen Butler, Norm Cribbin, Malcolm Crosse, Lyndon Cubbins, Andrew Fisher, Jason Garrett, Craig Granquist, Chris Hilton, Andrew Hood, Nick Ingles, James Jones, Peter Langton, David Lipscombe, Dave Long, Paul Markey, Paul McCosh, Brian McCullagh, Doug Miller, Tim Munro, Robert Phillips, Mark Quinane, John Spencer, David Travalia, Tim Urbanc, Chris Walsh, Noel Wilson, Tom Woolley, Rob Brodribb, Rob Dineen

Zoom:

There were no Zoom participants this meeting

Apologies:

James Mackay, Zuie Howard, Laurie Matcham, Wayne Bellette, Glenn Cannell, Tony Dell, Tim Lewis, Stephen Luttrell, Peter Murphy, Neil Pinkard, Peter Rasmussen, Andrew Reed, Stuart Spotswood, Ian Stokes, David Young

Guests:

Simon Brown

President's report

In Andrew Reed's absence David Travalia (VP) provided an amalgamated report – elements of them both. David thanked a number of people for their efforts over the year, but importantly overall, emphasised within the context of a Club which excels in its generosity and inclusivity between members – the mutual support which continues to underpin our longevity and growth. Singled out this year were Stephen Butler and Craig Granquist for their management of the Bothwell event, particularly Weasel; Andrew Hood and Tony Abel, for the relocation of fly-tying from Tiger Hut to Interlaken; Wayne Bellette re the casting events, including particularly Salmon Ponds; Stephen Butler re the annual fly-tying days and Zoom tying; and the evolving Cane Rod events, in particular the co-event with the FFCT @ Little Pine. He also mentioned the impact on us all of the untimely passing of Andrew Blackwood, who is and will continue to be sadly missed. The Club came together as one. Andrew's wake was testament to his esteem within the Club.

Treasurer's report

The Auditor's report – attached - has previously been circulated. Norm Cribbin pointed particularly to understandings of the deficits between social events and club activities – not all of the latter can be or are expected to be run on a cost-recovery basis – and our operating deficit for this FY, due to the planned extension costs for Sorell. The Report was accepted unanimously – moved Norm, seconded Denis Abbott.

Election of Office Bearers

Nominations for all Executive and Committee positions were received *per* Rule 29, at least 10 days prior to this meeting. There being no additional nominations, all positions are filled. The office bearers and Committee are as follows:

President Andrew Reed prop Anna Bellette, second Mike Bourne

Vice President Wayne Bellette prop David Travalia, second Andrew Reed

Treasurer Norm Cribbin prop Tony Abel, second Andrew Reed

Secretary Tony Abel prop Ian Stokes, second Lyndon Cubbins

Committee Scott Haslock prop David Travalia, second Andrew Reed

David Travalia prop Andrew Reed, second Scott Haslock

Paul Markey prop Andrew Reed, second Malcolm Crosse

Tim Urbanc prop Paul Markey, second Tony Abel

Special Resolutions re Audit and Rules changes

Both passed unanimously as previously notified to members, attached.

Resolution 1

There was considerable discussion re the merits of retaining audit vis a vis it's escalating cost. The changes have become common practice amongst small Associations such as ourselves. It was pointed out that the Club can elect an audit any given year, by not claiming the exemption under the rule change, and that the rule change – to enable election or not – is now required under the present Act and regulations. The rule change as proposed is legally required to provide us with this option. Moved Denis Abbott, seconded Tim Munro, passed unanimously

Resolution 2

These are housekeeping changes to our out-dated rules, to clarify the current requirements. Amendments to our Rules are needed to make these clear to future managers. Moved Simon Gates, seconded Rob Phillips, passed unanimously.

Appointment of Auditor

No auditor was appointed pursuant to the election approved under Special Resolution 1, above

Appointment of Honorary Solicitor

Robert Phillips was re-appointed: moved Tony Abel, seconded John Spencer

Appointment of Patron

John Fowler Jnr was appointed Patron proposed Nick Ingles, seconded Malcolm Crosse.

Life Members

Noel Wilson and Tony Abel were made Life Members

Noel – proposed unanimously by the Committee, pursuant to Rule 5(3)(a) Committee nomination, for years of generosity to other members, particularly new members, and enduring assistance with our fly-tying tuition and related events. In many ways, Noel epitomises the spirit of the Club.

Tony – proposed Peter Murphy, seconded Doug Miller. Peter being absent, the Chair read some remarks about a number of years of service on the Committee as variously Secretary, President and committee member and work with regard to the shacks, including his present role as Shack Warden for Sorell and work on the current extensions.

Honorary Members

No Honorary Members were nominated.

Clubman of the year

Norm Cribbin was awarded this honour for his transformative contribution with respect to our accounting systems.

The AGM closed at 8.50pm.