

Tasmanian Fly Tyers' Club

Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 18th August 2014 at 6.30pm

Present: Malcolm Crosse (chair) and 38 members as per attendance book.

Apologies: Rob Brodribb, Stewart Edwards, Glenn Eggleton, Jason Garrett, Simon Gates, John Hughes, Chris Medwin, Peter Murphy, Heather Noga, John Pinfold, Mark Quinane, Colin Shepherd, Stuart Spotswood, Tim Urbanc, Chris Walsh and Chris Rothe.

Minutes of the 2013 AGM – <u>moved</u> T Dell, <u>seconded</u> T Lewis that these adopted as a true record carried.

Business arising from the minutes – nil.

President's Report on behalf of the Committee

Looking back over my President's reports penned for the "Vice" for the past year, it will be hard to produce the President's Annual Report without repeating myself.

Reviewing the season we have just had, I can safely say that it was not one of the better seasons fishing wise. There was some reasonable wet fly fishing but generally the much sought after dry fly activity we all look for was not to be found.

Despite this the club maintained its presence with interesting monthly meetings and field activities.

Through our aim to promote the art of fly tying we again held the Tiger Hut weekend and a new innovation, an interclub fly tying social day was well attended.

Many of our members also hosted home fly tying evenings and other related activities.

Numerous field weekends were held, with some better attended than others, with probably the Penstock weekend being the most popular. Unfortunately not huge numbers of fish were caught but the fellowship was as always good.

Many members ventured to other parts of the world to fish and their colourful accounts of angling in different waters provided for good entertainment at our monthly meetings.

To all of the members who have contributed to our clubs activities, thank you for your efforts.

To my committee again many thanks for your hard work and input to this last years running of the club.

To all members I wish you tight lines for the coming season.

Malcolm Crosse

President

The report was accepted.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer, Andrew Blackwood reported that it was a reasonable year despite the deficit, this occurred because of the decision to do major repairs to the Miena shack. He thanked Peter Murphy and Tim Lewis for carrying out his role while he had an extended overseas trip. Moved T Lewis seconded B McCullagh and carried that the report be accepted.

Auditor's Report

The report of the Auditor was received.



Annual General Meeting, Lenah Valley RSL, 18th August 2014

Election of Office Bearers

The chair called for nominations from the floor. As none were received all positions were filled without a ballot.

- President: John Smith (Nominated M Crosse, seconded T Lewis)
- Vice President: Guy Nicholson (nominated M Crosse, seconded S Butler)
- Secretary: Tim Lewis (Nominated M Crosse, seconded J Smith)
- Treasurer: Andrew Blackwood (Nominated G Nicholson, seconded J Smith)
- Committee:

Ian Stokes (nominated M Crosse, seconded S Butler), Jason Garrett (nominated T Lewis, seconded M Crosse) &

Chris Medwin (nominated: M Crosse, seconded T Lewis).

The president thanked the outgoing committee members Stephen Butler and Tim Munro for their excellent contribution as committeemen and Tim also as Treasurer and Vice President.

John Smith thanked Malcolm Crosse for being President the last 2 years, he said he pushed for Malcolm to be President because he didn't want the role himself.

Appointment of Auditor

Moved D Nicholson seconded T Lewis that Michael Müller be appointed as Auditor.

Appointment of Honorary Solicitor

Moved A Blackwood seconded T Munro that Brett Cassidy be appointed as Honorary Solicitor.

Appointment of Patron

Moved M Crosse seconded N Ingles that Barbara Fowler be appointed as Patron.

'Johnny Walker' Clubman of the year

M Crosse was going to award this to Tony Dell but decided he had already received it many times. It was awarded to Tim Lewis for his services as Secretary and acting Treasurer.

The Chairman took questions from the floor.

Close of AGM at 6.50pm

T Lewis Secretary